Strongly Typed .Net 2.0 Interop for ActiveX Pro v2016.0.0.2

TeeChart for ActiveX, COM and ASP
Post Reply
Yokogawa Marex
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 12:00 am

Strongly Typed .Net 2.0 Interop for ActiveX Pro v2016.0.0.2

Post by Yokogawa Marex » Thu Aug 25, 2016 11:19 am

We have just upgraded from TeeChart ActiveX v5 to v2016.0.0.2 in order to produce a patch of our software (asp.net .net 2.0 Website) to resolve a customer issue where Japanese text was not being displayed correctly, this was fixed in a v2013 version of TeeCharts.

Because we are only producing a patch not a full release we are restricted as to what we can change.
Project constraints:
Visual Studio 2008
All assemblies compiled against .Net 2.0 x86


The Teechart upgrade went fine and fixed the original issue, but during the patch testing we have identified an issue with the way the Strongly Typed TeeChart Interop was generated.

When attempting to create a gantt chart we got an application error with the following information:
“Exception: System.MissingMethodException
Message: Method not found: 'Void System.Threading.Monitor.Enter(System.Object, Boolean ByRef)'.
StackTrace: at TeeChart.ITChartEvents_EventProvider.Finalize()”

I have verified that the method ‘System.Threading.Monitor.Enter’ has only been available from .Net 4.0 onwards.
The Strongly Typed interop (TeeChart.dll) we are using was provided with the release from the following folder:
‘<ProgramFiles>\Steema Software\TeeChart Pro v2016 ActiveX Control\Utilities\Vs.net\Strong Named DLLs\’

As the documentation on the interop doesn’t explicitly state I can only assume that the interop was generated using .Net 4.0.
If you refer back to our project constraints this causes a problem because we can only use .Net 2.0, and it’s not possible to reference a .Net 4.0 dll from within an application domain that is running .Net 2.0.

Request: Is it possible for you to generate a Strongly Typed Interop for ActiveX Pro v2016.0.0.2 that targets .Net 2.0 that we can use.
(In future releases could you also update the documentation to indicate the .Net framework that the interop targets, including a .Net 2.0 and a 4.0 version of the interop would be even better.)

Marc
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1209
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Girona
Contact:

Re: Strongly Typed .Net 2.0 Interop for ActiveX Pro v2016.0.0.2

Post by Marc » Fri Aug 26, 2016 3:14 pm

Hello,

We'll take a look to preparing the version you require. It seems likely that we'll need to use the older versión of Visual Studio (VS2008 or earlier) to target the framework correctly.

Regards,
Marc Meumann
Steema Support

Yokogawa Marex
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 12:00 am

Re: Strongly Typed .Net 2.0 Interop for ActiveX Pro v2016.0.0.2

Post by Yokogawa Marex » Fri Aug 26, 2016 3:22 pm

Many thanks.
It would be great if we could get something by the end of Tuesday next week.

Yokogawa Marex
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 12:00 am

Re: Strongly Typed .Net 2.0 Interop for ActiveX Pro v2016.0.0.2

Post by Yokogawa Marex » Thu Sep 01, 2016 9:17 am

Hi, Just wondering if you have made any progress generating a .Net 2.0 Strongly Typed Interop for ActiveX Pro v2016.0.0.2

Yokogawa Marex
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 12:00 am

Re: Strongly Typed .Net 2.0 Interop for ActiveX Pro v2016.0.0.2

Post by Yokogawa Marex » Tue Sep 06, 2016 11:24 am

Has any progress be made in generating a .Net 2.0 Strongly Typed Interop.
We could possibly work with a .Net 3.0 – 3.5 SP1 Strongly Typed Interop if that’s the only other alternative.

Is there any way we can generate the Strongly Typed Interop ourselves, but I believe it would require access to the key file, which is not distributed with the install for obvious reasons?

Unfortunately we have no option but to use Strongly Typed Interops because it needs to be added to the GAC.

Sandra
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3132
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Strongly Typed .Net 2.0 Interop for ActiveX Pro v2016.0.0.2

Post by Sandra » Wed Sep 07, 2016 2:10 pm

Hello,
I have sent an email with the Strong Names dlls for .net framework 2.0.

Hoping this helps

Thanks in advance
Best Regards,
Sandra Pazos / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Yokogawa Marex
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 12:00 am

Re: Strongly Typed .Net 2.0 Interop for ActiveX Pro v2016.0.0.2

Post by Yokogawa Marex » Thu Sep 08, 2016 8:33 am

Hi, Thanks for your reply.
Unfortunately, we haven’t been able to find the email yet, please could you resend it.
Is there also an option for me to private message you the details of an alternative email address, if it still doesn’t get through.
Many thanks

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9514
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Strongly Typed .Net 2.0 Interop for ActiveX Pro v2016.0.0.2

Post by Yeray » Thu Sep 08, 2016 8:59 am

Hello,

Please send a mail to "info at steema dot com" asking for the files. Please add a reference to this thread.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Yokogawa Marex
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 12:00 am

Re: Strongly Typed .Net 2.0 Interop for ActiveX Pro v2016.0.0.2

Post by Yokogawa Marex » Thu Sep 08, 2016 3:11 pm

Just to let you know that I have done some initial testing and the new interop you provided build against .Net 2.0 have fixed the issue we were seeing.

Many Thanks

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9514
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Strongly Typed .Net 2.0 Interop for ActiveX Pro v2016.0.0.2

Post by Yeray » Fri Sep 09, 2016 7:11 am

Hi,
Yokogawa Marex wrote:Just to let you know that I have done some initial testing and the new interop you provided build against .Net 2.0 have fixed the issue we were seeing.
I'm glad to hear that!
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Post Reply