Multiple Instancing of Internet Explorer

TeeChart for ActiveX, COM and ASP
rama
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 4:00 am

Multiple Instancing of Internet Explorer

Post by rama » Mon Apr 28, 2008 9:09 am

I am using Teechart activex 7.0.1.3 version in the IE. I am opening the teechart in the modeless diaglog box. In the first pop dialog box if tooltip displayed and opened the second pop-up dialigbox. while closing the second popup dialog box the IE is hanging. In the Teechart release letter mentioned as below. But still I am able to reproduce the problem.

* Fixes in the v7.05 (until 28/07/2005)
----------------------------------------

# Multiple Instancing of Internet Explorer
Windows could generate an error when closing
if MarkTips tool present. Now resolved.

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9540
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Yeray » Fri May 02, 2008 8:24 am

Hi rama,

As you say, this should be solved. Please, in order to discover what's happening, could you send us a simple example project we can run "as-is" to reproduce the problem here?

You can either post your files at news://www.steema.net/steema.public.attachments newsgroup or at our upload page.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Rama
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 4:00 am

Post by Rama » Tue May 06, 2008 4:17 pm

Hi,

I have uploaded the sample webapplication to the upload page. The file name is "WebApplication1.zip". Extract this zip file and create a virtual folder "TeechartSample".

By clicking "Shoe Modeless" button it will open a dialog box and move the mouse along with the line. It will display the tool tip.

open one more model less and move mouse on the line. It will display tool tip. Now close the model less dialog. THe IE crashses.

Regards,
Rama

rama
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 4:00 am

Post by rama » Mon May 12, 2008 4:33 am

Hi,

Please let me know the update on this. For me it is an urgent issue. Please let me know if you need more details of the problem.

Regards,
Rama

rama
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 4:00 am

very very urgent

Post by rama » Thu May 15, 2008 4:56 am

Any help???

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Fri May 16, 2008 3:22 pm

Hello rama,

Thanks for the example project and sorry for the delayed reply. We have been investigated the issue and we have found that that change in v7.05 had to be undone as a side effect was a problem on MarkTips when moving mouse out of application.

As a workaround you can create MarkTips tool using Annotation tool. I'll send you an example of this.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

rama
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 4:00 am

Post by rama » Mon May 19, 2008 4:55 am

Narcís,

Happy to hear on workaround. THank you for your investigation.
Hope I will get the example as early as possible. I hope you can understand my urgency on this issue.

Thanks & Regards,
Rama

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Mon May 19, 2008 7:18 am

Hi Rama,

I sent the example on Friday to your forums contact e-mail address and the e-mail address you used at the upload page. Have you received it?
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

rama
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 4:00 am

Post by rama » Tue May 27, 2008 8:42 am

Narcis,

Thank you for the example. It is working fine. I am trying to implement same logic in my application.

The problem is I am not able to get the date time value for the X to display in the annotation text. While using asmarksTip it displyed the dattime and Y value in the tool tip. I want to achive same thing now. Could you please send a example for this.

Regards,
Rama

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Tue May 27, 2008 9:03 am

Hi Rama,

Yes, you can do something like this:

Code: Select all

    TChart1.Tools.Items(0).asAnnotation.Text = CStr(CDate(TChart1.Series(0).XValues.Value(0))) & _
                                                ", " & CStr(TChart1.Series(0).YValues.Value(0))
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

rama
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 4:00 am

Post by rama » Mon Jun 02, 2008 8:26 am

Hi,

Now I am able to display the Date time value and Y value in the annotation text.

If the annotation text is going beyond the teechart boarder then it is truncating. But in case of tool tip it displays.

Please give a sample to code to display annotation text if the mouse is near the end of series. The truncation of text might happening because the width of text is crossing the teechart border.

Regards,
Rama

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Mon Jun 02, 2008 8:47 am

Hi Rama,

Using code below doesn't truncate annotation tool for me. Does it work fine at your end? Could you please modify the project so that we can reproduce the problem here?

Code: Select all

Private Sub Form_Load()
    TChart1.AddSeries scPoint
    TChart1.Series(0).FillSampleValues 25
    TChart1.Series(0).XValues.DateTime = True
    
    TChart1.Tools.Add tcAnnotate
End Sub

Private Sub TChart1_OnMouseMove(ByVal Shift As TeeChart.EShiftState, ByVal X As Long, ByVal Y As Long)
    Index = TChart1.Series(0).Clicked(X, Y)
    
    If Index <> -1 Then
        With TChart1.Tools.Items(0).asAnnotation
            .Text = CStr(CDate(TChart1.Series(0).XValues.Value(Index))) & _
                    ", " & CStr(TChart1.Series(0).YValues.Value(Index))
            .Shape.CustomPosition = True
            .Shape.Left = TChart1.Series(0).CalcXPos(Index)
            .Shape.Top = TChart1.Series(0).CalcYPos(Index)
        End With
    End If
End Sub
Thanks in advance.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

rama
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 4:00 am

Post by rama » Tue Jun 03, 2008 6:59 am

Narcis,

I have uploaded the sample project to the upload area. The file name is WebApplication1.zip. Extract this zip file and create a virtual folder "TeechartSample".

By clicking "Show Modeless" button it will open a dialog box and move the mouse along with the line it displays the annotation text as tool tip. If you move to 23 point and above the annotation text is truncated. We can not see the full tool tip text. Please let me know the work around.

REgards,
Rama

rama
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 4:00 am

Post by rama » Mon Jun 09, 2008 6:48 am

Hi Narcis,

Please let me know your reply. I am waiting for your reply to take the further decisions.

Regards,
Rama

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Wed Jun 18, 2008 9:52 am

Hi Rama,

Sorry for the delayed reply. MarkTips tool uses windows hints, Annotation tools don't and therefore they are clipped by the browser window. The only solution is, when calculating the Annotation position, check if its Left coordinate plus its width is greater than chart's width. If so you could make a multiple line annotation tool.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Post Reply