Regarding TPointSeries, changing to Single from Double

TeeChart VCL for Borland/CodeGear/Embarcadero RAD Studio, Delphi and C++ Builder.
Post Reply
Johan Ingemansson
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:00 am
Location: Sweden

Regarding TPointSeries, changing to Single from Double

Post by Johan Ingemansson » Tue Sep 07, 2004 2:03 pm

Hello,

Is it possible to change TChartValues from double to single. It would be excellent because the memory reduction would be about 50%.

Best Regards,

Johan Ingemansson

Marjan
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 745
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2003 5:00 am
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Post by Marjan » Tue Sep 07, 2004 3:15 pm

Hi.

Yes, it can be done, but only if you have TeeChart source code. If you have, then all you must do is open the TeeDefs.inc file and locate the following lines:

Code: Select all

/ "Value" type for point values data.  
// Remove the "." on ONLY one of the items below:

{$DEFINE TEEVALUEDOUBLE}
{.$DEFINE TEEVALUESINGLE}
{.$DEFINE TEEVALUEEXTENDED}
and change them to

Code: Select all

{.$DEFINE TEEVALUEDOUBLE}
{$DEFINE TEEVALUESINGLE}
{.$DEFINE TEEVALUEEXTENDED}
Then recompile and reinstall all TeeChart packages.
Marjan Slatinek,
http://www.steema.com

Johan Ingemansson
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:00 am
Location: Sweden

Possible for adjustment

Post by Johan Ingemansson » Wed Sep 08, 2004 6:13 am

So if I don´t have the source code then it´s impossible? Wouldn´t it be possible for Steema to make this adjustment, since I would benifit greatly for the reduced memory consumtion. I would be forever gratefule. If this isn´t possible I would recommend that this feature is standard in next coming versions of TeeChart.

Best Regards,

Johan Ingemansson

Pep
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3273
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2003 5:00 am
Contact:

Post by Pep » Wed Sep 08, 2004 8:38 am

Hi Johan,
So if I don´t have the source code then it´s impossible?
No, that I know of. You need to sources to modify and recompilet them.
Wouldn´t it be possible for Steema to make this adjustment, since I would benifit greatly for the reduced memory consumtion. I would be forever gratefule. If this isn´t possible I would recommend that this feature is standard in next coming versions of TeeChart.
I've added this on our wish list to be considered for the next releases.

Marjan
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 745
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2003 5:00 am
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: Possible for adjustment

Post by Marjan » Wed Sep 08, 2004 2:34 pm

9232649 wrote:Wouldn´t it be possible for Steema to make this adjustmentJohan Ingemansson
A bit tricky to do because you can't do it simply by using some flag(s). You have to recompile the packages with different declaration. The only solution for non-source code customers would be that we would prepare two sets of files (single and double compile) and prepare separate installers. However, at the moment we do not plan to do this. So, the only solution for non-source code customers is to upgrade to source code and build "single" packages manually.
Marjan Slatinek,
http://www.steema.com

Johan Ingemansson
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:00 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Johan Ingemansson » Wed Sep 08, 2004 6:37 pm

Ok, I´ll do that!

Best Regards,

Johan Ingemansson

Marcel Horsthuis
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 10, 2016 12:00 am

Re: Regarding TPointSeries, changing to Single from Double

Post by Marcel Horsthuis » Thu Dec 22, 2016 10:46 am

Hello,

We want to user singles i.s.o doubles in TChartvalues.
The last post on this item is from 2004 where you have to have the source code to get this done.
Has something changed on this issue since then?

Regards,

Marcel Horsthuis

Sandra
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3132
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Regarding TPointSeries, changing to Single from Double

Post by Sandra » Tue Dec 27, 2016 10:37 am

Hello Marcel,

I would like inform you that TChartValues, by default, are Doubles, therefore, if you want use these as single you still need modify the TeeChart source code in same way as we indicate above.

Thanks in advance
Best Regards,
Sandra Pazos / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Post Reply