Axis Label Margins on 3D surface plot

TeeChart VCL for Borland/CodeGear/Embarcadero RAD Studio, Delphi and C++ Builder.
Post Reply
Sharpenski
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2016 12:00 am

Axis Label Margins on 3D surface plot

Post by Sharpenski » Wed Sep 07, 2016 1:24 pm

Hi,

I would like to adjust the labels on a line chart so that they sit away from the axis itself - i.e. insert a space between the axis line and the labels for each tick. I am sure there must be a simple way to do this but I can't find it anywhere. The style of line chart I am using is a 3D surface plot but I would also like to include this feature for 2D plots. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9533
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Axis Label Margins on 3D surface plot

Post by Yeray » Thu Sep 08, 2016 10:12 am

Hello,

I believe you are looking for this property:

Code: Select all

Chart1.Axes.Left.Texts.MarginToAxis:=100;
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Sharpenski
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2016 12:00 am

Re: Axis Label Margins on 3D surface plot

Post by Sharpenski » Thu Sep 08, 2016 10:39 am

Thanks but unfortunately this property is not available to me in my verion of TeeChart which is for RAD Studio XE6.

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9533
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Axis Label Margins on 3D surface plot

Post by Yeray » Fri Sep 09, 2016 7:14 am

Hello,

Could you please precise what exact TeeChart version and build are you using in XE6?
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Sharpenski
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2016 12:00 am

Re: Axis Label Margins on 3D surface plot

Post by Sharpenski » Fri Sep 09, 2016 8:05 am

It is listed in the package list as 'TeeChart Pro 2015 VCL Components'.

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9533
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Axis Label Margins on 3D surface plot

Post by Yeray » Fri Sep 09, 2016 8:57 am

Hello,
Sharpenski wrote:It is listed in the package list as 'TeeChart Pro 2015 VCL Components'.
We published three releases in 2015.

- The easiest way to know what exact design time package do you have installed in the IDE, please right click on a chart at design time. The first item in the context menu should indicate the build number of the design time package installed.

- The easiest way to know what runtime package are you using at runtime, please add the VCLTee.TeeConst unit in the uses clause and run this code:

Code: Select all

  ShowMessage(TeeMsg_Version);
Note you can have a version installed in the design time packages and another version being used at runtime (referenced in the paths), so it's worth to check if both the design time and the runtime packages match.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Sharpenski
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2016 12:00 am

Re: Axis Label Margins on 3D surface plot

Post by Sharpenski » Fri Sep 09, 2016 9:22 am

TeeChart Pro v2015.14.150120 32bit VCL is what is printed.

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9533
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Axis Label Margins on 3D surface plot

Post by Yeray » Mon Sep 12, 2016 10:07 am

Hello,

I've checked the MarginToAxis property was introduced in TeeChart v2016.17.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Sharpenski
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2016 12:00 am

Re: Axis Label Margins on 3D surface plot

Post by Sharpenski » Mon Sep 12, 2016 3:59 pm

Oh, does that mean it's impossible or is there an alternative?

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9533
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Axis Label Margins on 3D surface plot

Post by Yeray » Tue Sep 13, 2016 7:44 am

Hello,
Sharpenski wrote:, does that mean it's impossible or is there an alternative?
Since writing in this forum is restricted to customers with an active subscription, I assumed you could update to the latest version.
An alternative for version prior to v2016.17 would be to override the Axis Format.ShapeBounds at OnDrawLabel as in the following example:

Code: Select all

  //...
  Chart1.Axes.Left.OnDrawLabel:=AxisDrawLabel;
  //...
procedure TForm1.AxisDrawLabel(Sender:TChartAxis; var X,Y,Z:Integer; var Text:String;
                               var DrawLabel:Boolean);
begin
  Sender.Items.Format.ShapeBounds.Left:=Sender.Items.Format.ShapeBounds.Left-20;
end;
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Sharpenski
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2016 12:00 am

Re: Axis Label Margins on 3D surface plot

Post by Sharpenski » Tue Sep 13, 2016 8:37 am

Thanks, does the latest version work alongside Delphi XE6?

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9533
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Axis Label Margins on 3D surface plot

Post by Yeray » Wed Sep 14, 2016 10:49 am

Hello,
Sharpenski wrote:does the latest version work alongside Delphi XE6?
Yes. See the product page:
Embarcardero IDEs supported include:
- Delphi XE to XE8, Delphi 10 Seattle, Delphi 10.1 Berlin
- C++Builder XE to XE8, C++Builder 10 Seattle, C++Builder 10.1 Berlin
- RAD Studio XE to XE8, RAD Studio 10 Seattle, RAD Studio 10.1 Berlin
- Delphi 7, Delphi/C++ Builder/RAD Studio 2007, 2009 and 2010 (sourcecode version only)
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Post Reply