Image export resolution

TeeChart VCL for Borland/CodeGear/Embarcadero RAD Studio, Delphi and C++ Builder.
Post Reply
Sharpenski
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2016 12:00 am

Image export resolution

Post by Sharpenski » Tue Jan 24, 2017 9:42 am

Hi,

I find that when I export a chart as an image the resolution decreases, but if I print directly it looks clearly defined. How do I ensure that exported images appear as clearly?

Sandra
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3132
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Image export resolution

Post by Sandra » Tue Jan 24, 2017 12:45 pm

Hello Sharpenski,

Unfortunately, I can't reproduce the problem you're experiencing. I have exported the chart to different image types (jpeg, gif, png..) and I can see any resolution problems. Could you tell us in which kind image the problem appear?

Thanks in advance,
Best Regards,
Sandra Pazos / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Sharpenski
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2016 12:00 am

Re: Image export resolution

Post by Sharpenski » Wed Jan 25, 2017 8:59 am

Basically if i try and export a chart as a large image - say, to fill an entire A4 sheet, the scale is disrupted and the labels etc. appear smaller. Is there a way I can retain the way the chart appears on screen and export it as a larger image (in terms of dimensions)?

Sandra
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3132
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Image export resolution

Post by Sandra » Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:31 am

Hello Sharpenski,

The code below exports a Chart image without compression with Best quality :

Code: Select all

uses TeExport, TeeJPEG,TeeBmpOptions,jpeg;

procedure TForm1.Button1Click(Sender: TObject);
begin
TeeSaveToJPEGFile( Chart1, 'E:\tmp\VCL\TestImage\mychart.jpg',False,jpBestQuality,100, 5480, 8508 );

end;

procedure TForm1.FormCreate(Sender: TObject);
begin
Chart1.View3D := false;
Series1.FillSampleValues(10);
end;
Could you tell me if it fix the problem you're experiencing? If not, please modify the code because we can reproduce the problem here.

Thanks in advance
Best Regards,
Sandra Pazos / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Sharpenski
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2016 12:00 am

Re: Image export resolution

Post by Sharpenski » Wed Jan 25, 2017 1:12 pm

Thank you, but the problem is when I export the image. You have an option to alter the size of the image. When I do this the detail in the chart (e.g. labels, title etc.) do not re-scale to fit the rest of the image and appear quite small, even though in the plot they look correct.

Sandra
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3132
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Image export resolution

Post by Sandra » Wed Jan 25, 2017 4:27 pm

Hello Sharpenski,

Could you tell us which version of TeeChart Pro VCL/FMX are you using?

Also, I have done all the test you mention and I can't reproduce the problem using latest Teechart Pro VCL/FMX V2016.19.

Thanks in advance
Best Regards,
Sandra Pazos / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Sharpenski
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2016 12:00 am

Re: Image export resolution

Post by Sharpenski » Wed Feb 01, 2017 11:11 am

I am using 'Teechart 2016 VCL Components'.

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9534
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Image export resolution

Post by Yeray » Thu Feb 02, 2017 7:36 am

Hello,
Sharpenski wrote:I am using 'Teechart 2016 VCL Components'.
What build, v2016.18 or v2016.19?

I'd suggest you to read the "printing better" article here.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Post Reply