Invalid Floating point error

TeeChart VCL for Borland/CodeGear/Embarcadero RAD Studio, Delphi and C++ Builder.
Post Reply
weidunu
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2017 12:00 am

Invalid Floating point error

Post by weidunu » Fri Nov 17, 2017 10:27 am

Hello,

I'm using Teechart Pro 2017(.22) VCL Component and get an Invalid Floating error. The Version 2017.21 has the failure too. Sometime you get the failure and now under a Special Setting every time. I'm using the TFastLineSeries and I would say it crashs inside the Routine DoBeforeParallel by using the ROUNDS function of rtl240.bpl. I have put a Screen shot of this inside the attachment, where you can see the CPU view too.

I hope you can help me. This is a big big problem for us, because we will release our sw.


Best regards

Udo
Attachments
TChart_Floating point error.jpg
TChart_Floating point error.jpg (451.57 KiB) Viewed 10871 times

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9514
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Invalid Floating point error

Post by Yeray » Fri Nov 17, 2017 3:25 pm

Hello,

We'd need a test project to reproduce the problem here and to debug it to try to find a fix.
It seems DoBeforeParallel is called when TFastLineSeries has DrawStyle set to flAll. You could try changing it to flSegments to see if the problem disappears, if it's an acceptable workaround for you.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

weidunu
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2017 12:00 am

Re: Invalid Floating point error

Post by weidunu » Mon Feb 26, 2018 8:11 am

Hello,

sorry for writing so late, but I couldn't generate a little example to demostrate this problem. But what I have found out is, that the
floating point error happens, if the values are very high in positiv or negativ area.

If I limit this area , no floting error happens.


TChartValues aYChartWerte[ MAXIMAL_EVAL_CHANNELS ];

if (aYChartWerte [iNumber] [lIndex] > 1000000 )
aYChartWerte [iNumber] [lIndex] = MAX_TEECHARTVALUE;
if (aYChartWerte [iNumber] [lIndex] < -1000000 )
aYChartWerte [iNumber] [lIndex] = MAX_TEECHARTVALUE;

..... (later)

ChartPointer_S->Series[iS]->YValues->Value = aYChartWerte[iX];

Do you have an idea, where it comes from ?


Best regards

Udo

Marc
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1209
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Girona
Contact:

Re: Invalid Floating point error

Post by Marc » Tue Feb 27, 2018 10:29 am

Hello Udo,

We're trying to trace possible causes. Can you confirm that version 2017.20 worked without this problem? (..or name us the last working version please)

With thanks.
Regards,
Marc Meumann
Steema Support

weidunu
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2017 12:00 am

Re: Invalid Floating point error

Post by weidunu » Tue Feb 27, 2018 10:39 am

Hello Marc,

I haven't worked with 2017.20. But I think with the version 2016.18 the problem wasn't exist.

I hope that I could help you !

Best regards

Udo

Post Reply