Property HoverElement does not exist

TeeChart VCL for Borland/CodeGear/Embarcadero RAD Studio, Delphi and C++ Builder.
Post Reply
Softdrill NL
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 12:00 am

Property HoverElement does not exist

Post by Softdrill NL » Tue Jul 17, 2018 11:03 am

Hi,

Hopefully you can help me with a strange (and very annoying) issue. I created a small test application in relation to topic http://www.teechart.net/support/viewtop ... =3&t=16897.
All I did was placing a TChart on the form in order to experiment with some visual settings. Suddenly, the application will no longer start with an EReadError; "Property HoverElement does not exist".

I can't seem to figure out how to fix this. I removed the series (and added a new one), removed the entire chart (and added a new one) and even removed the property from the DFM;

Code: Select all

  object Series1: TLineSeries
    HoverElement = [heCurrent]      <=== TRIED TO REMOVE THIS LINE
    VertAxis = aRightAxis
    InflateMargins = False
    Pointer.InflateMargins = True
    Pointer.Style = psRectangle
    XValues.Name = 'X'
    XValues.Order = loAscending
    YValues.Name = 'Y'
    YValues.Order = loNone
  end
However, none of these options work. I did notice this property was changed (moved to TSeries), but I am on version 2018.24.180321 (32 bit VCL) so it should all work.
Any suggestions?

Thanks and regards,
Mark

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9514
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Property HoverElement does not exist

Post by Yeray » Fri Jul 20, 2018 9:06 am

Hello,

Indeed, the HoverElement property was introduced in v2017.23 so it shouldn't be a problem in v2018.24.
If you create a series at runtime, can you access this property normally?
I'd suggest you to make sure the correct TeeChart version is referenced in the paths.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Softdrill NL
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 12:00 am

Re: Property HoverElement does not exist

Post by Softdrill NL » Fri Jul 20, 2018 11:35 am

Hello Yeray,

Kind of strange. There was a path listed that appeared to reference an older (2017) version, albeit for TeeTree.

As changing things around didn't make a difference, I decided to remove all paths listed (in Tools / Options -> Delphi Options -> Library, Library Path) and re-install TChart. Just before closing Delphi (Tokyo 10.2.3), I decided to give it another try and much to my surprise it worked!!

This means all is working without any library path defined. What paths should I have and how can it work like this?

Regards,
Mark

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9514
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Property HoverElement does not exist

Post by Yeray » Mon Jul 23, 2018 7:09 am

Hello Mark,

If the error appeared at design time, it makes sense that reinstalling the design-time package could make a difference. If you still find problems at design-time, I would suggest you to close the IDE and run TeeInstall.exe from the TeeChart v2018.24 installation (selecting "No" if it asks you to "Uninstall" will actually Reinstall it).

Then, I would check the paths (help here) with no project loaded, create a new project, place a chart into the form and run it.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 12:00 am

Re: Property HoverElement does not exist

Post by » Mon Jan 07, 2019 2:01 pm

I am having the same problem as I try to move the charts to mobile. Works find on VCL not in FMX. Downloaded and install version 26 did a complete build, still same issue. Is there a way to turn hover off so I can move on?

Ray

Marc
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1209
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Girona
Contact:

Re: Property HoverElement does not exist

Post by Marc » Mon Jan 07, 2019 4:16 pm

Hello Ray,

To disable Hover:

Code: Select all

Chart1.Hover.Visible := False;
Regards,
Marc Meumann
Steema Support

Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 12:00 am

Re: Property HoverElement does not exist

Post by » Thu Jan 10, 2019 7:48 pm

Marc

Your suggestion did not work.
dbchart.hover.visible := False;

I still get an error deploying on android Property HoverElement does not exist.

Help, trying to port chart to mobile.

Ray

Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 12:00 am

Re: Property HoverElement does not exist

Post by » Thu Jan 10, 2019 8:06 pm

Marc

I check the paths and I was still loading version 22, made the change using the path information and It worked and looked great.

Thanks for your help.

To all others check your library paths, first. Looks great on mobile.
Ray

Post Reply