Page 1 of 1

Chart Editor - Losing Contour Levels Tab

Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2022 5:49 pm
by 16592554
I have 2 applications which contain contour series built in code as follows:

Code: Select all

  var aContourSeries := Chart.AddSeries(tContourSeries) as tContourSeries;
In one application the chart editor "Series" tab has 5 sub-tabs including "Format" and "Grid 3D" in the other application these tabs are missing. Without the Format tab, the user can't reset the contour levels. Any Idea why? The code in both applications looks very similar. See the screenshots below - I note that the version with the extra tabs has a "contour Icon" next to the series name and the other doesn't.
2022-09-06 18_35_10-MPPERER Chart Viewer.png
2022-09-06 18_35_10-MPPERER Chart Viewer.png (13.63 KiB) Viewed 4215 times
2022-09-06 18_33_26-Editing ICE_Chart.png
2022-09-06 18_33_26-Editing ICE_Chart.png (16.39 KiB) Viewed 4215 times

Re: Chart Editor - Losing Contour Levels Tab

Posted: Mon Sep 12, 2022 10:17 am
by yeray
Hello,

Some tabs are split in different units. You can add the TeeContourEdit to add the "levels" tab.

However, note the editor is designed to help the developers to build and test their applications, not to be accessed by the final users, so we don't recommend giving access to it.

Re: Chart Editor - Losing Contour Levels Tab

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2022 2:36 pm
by 16592554
Thanks. Adding TeeContourEdit to the form unit hosting the editor worked fine. I have no idea why the other app showed the contour level tab as that form also did not use TeeContourEdit.

Re: Chart Editor - Losing Contour Levels Tab

Posted: Tue Sep 20, 2022 7:16 am
by yeray
Hello,
Paul Holden wrote:
Mon Sep 19, 2022 2:36 pm
I have no idea why the other app showed the contour level tab as that form also did not use TeeContourEdit.
Probably that's because at some point in the dependency tree (a unit that references another unit,...), the TeeContourEdit unit is referenced.

Re: Chart Editor - Losing Contour Levels Tab

Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2022 9:12 pm
by 16592554
I think it was a reference to VCLTee.TeeChartBook that exposed the dependency. All a bit random - you might want to think about tidying it up at some point.

Re: Chart Editor - Losing Contour Levels Tab

Posted: Thu Sep 22, 2022 6:25 am
by yeray
Hello Paul,

The TChartBook component has a ShowToolBar property to show a TTeeCommander with the TChart.
This is the reason why TChartBook class references TeeComma unit.
TeeComma references TeeEditPro because the commander has an "Editor" button, and TeeEditPro references TeeContourEdit and all the series editors.