DrawAllPoints not working anymore

TeeChart VCL for Borland/CodeGear/Embarcadero RAD Studio, Delphi and C++ Builder.
Post Reply
RFManu
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2023 12:00 am

DrawAllPoints not working anymore

Post by RFManu » Wed Jul 19, 2023 7:28 am

Hi,
Using C++Builder 11 and latest TeeChart 2023.38 version,

DrawAllPoints=false doesn't work anymore, all points are drawn on FastLine series. This creates a major issue in our existing applications as time to display millions of points is seriously increased.
Can you please fix this as soon as you can?
Please note the same code is working fine on C++Builder 10.4 and TeeChart 2020.30. Unfortunately, 2023.38 is the only version compatible with C++B11 so I'm stuck...
Thanks.

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9534
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: DrawAllPoints not working anymore

Post by Yeray » Wed Jul 19, 2023 8:08 am

Hello,
wrote:
Wed Jul 19, 2023 7:28 am
DrawAllPoints=false doesn't work anymore, all points are drawn on FastLine series. This creates a major issue in our existing applications as time to display millions of points is seriously increased.
I'll test it and I'll be back here as soon as possible.
wrote:
Wed Jul 19, 2023 7:28 am
Please note the same code is working fine on C++Builder 10.4 and TeeChart 2020.30. Unfortunately, 2023.38 is the only version compatible with C++B11 so I'm stuck...
What patch do you have in C++ Builder 11?
RAD Studio 11 Alexandria is supported since TeeChart v2021.33, so you can try an older version if the TeeChart version supports your IDE version.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

RFManu
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2023 12:00 am

Re: DrawAllPoints not working anymore

Post by RFManu » Wed Jul 19, 2023 8:22 am

Thanks.
I'm up to date with patches (11.3 patch 1). Glad to hear I can try older versions, will do asap.

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9534
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: DrawAllPoints not working anymore

Post by Yeray » Wed Jul 19, 2023 10:20 am

Hello,

We introduced changes in TeeChart v2021.32 (April 2021) that may affect the DrawAllPoints performance.
Since RAD Studio 11 Alexandria was released later (September 2021), the first TeeChart version supporting RAD 11 Alexandria (TeeChart v2021.33) already has this changes.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

RFManu
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2023 12:00 am

Re: DrawAllPoints not working anymore

Post by RFManu » Wed Jul 19, 2023 12:52 pm

Update from my side:
Tested 2023.38 on both CB11 and CB 10.4, and it shows the same issue, Points are all drawn, no impact of DrawAllPoints value.

Tested 2022.36, same issue on both 10.4 and 11

Tested 2021.33, same issue on both 10.4 and 11

Tested again 2020.31 on 10.4 and DrawAllPoints is now working as expected.

I'm really surprised this issue hasn't been discovered by other users as it seems to be there for at least 2 years...
As a quick temporary fix, would you be able to regenerate a new installer for version 2020.31 for CB11 please?
Thanks

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9534
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: DrawAllPoints not working anymore

Post by Yeray » Wed Jul 19, 2023 6:15 pm

Hello,

We did those changes to fix #2006.
In the tests I've just done, I can see the daMinMax is more performant than daFirst DrawAllPointsStyle. Can you give it a try at daMinMax DrawAllPointsStyle?
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

RFManu
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2023 12:00 am

Re: DrawAllPoints not working anymore

Post by RFManu » Tue Jul 25, 2023 7:30 am

Hi,
I don't think you have understood the issue, let me try to be clearer.
If I create a simple application drawing 1 million point in fastline using C++Builder 10.4 and TeeChart 2020.30, I get the following performances:
DrawAllPoints=true => 520ms to draw
DrawAllPoints=false => 47ms to draw

Now if I compile the same application using C++Builder 11 and TeeChart 2023.38, DrawAllPoints doesn't have anymore effect and it takes about 250ms to draw. So it's about 2 times faster than before with all points, but 5 times slower when all points were not drawn... Which is a big issue for us.

RFManu
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2023 12:00 am

Re: DrawAllPoints not working anymore

Post by RFManu » Tue Jul 25, 2023 4:57 pm

Ok, after doing a lot of tests comparing versions, it seems that both versions are now quite similar on speed when DrawAllPoints is false. This is quite strange and I'll keep testing, I could see a major difference before, but after a full re-installation it seems to be better...
daMinMax is slightly faster than daFirst.
Thanks

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9534
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: DrawAllPoints not working anymore

Post by Yeray » Wed Jul 26, 2023 12:46 pm

Hello,
RFManu wrote:
Tue Jul 25, 2023 4:57 pm
Ok, after doing a lot of tests comparing versions, it seems that both versions are now quite similar on speed when DrawAllPoints is false. This is quite strange and I'll keep testing, I could see a major difference before, but after a full re-installation it seems to be better...
daMinMax is slightly faster than daFirst.
I'm also not sure why you're getting different results after a reinstall, but I'm glad to hear it works better now for you.
If you find anything relevant in those tests please don't hesitate to let us know.
Thanks for any feedback.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Post Reply