From Version 1 to Version 2

TeeTree VCL for Borland Delphi and C++ Builder.
iltrap2
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2002 12:00 am

From Version 1 to Version 2

Post by iltrap2 » Tue May 09, 2006 9:38 am

Hi,
we have some noises to port an our project (Delphi5) from TeeTree1 to TeeTree2.
On version 1 we used TreeHorizMarginDefault and TreeVertMarginDefault; on version 2?
We are upgrading to TeeTree2 because printing with TeeTree1 was not correct, but also using version2 is not so simple to print my Tree: it doesn't display connections correctly.

Can somebody help us please?
Thanks in advance.
Regards
Andrea

tom
Advanced
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2003 5:00 am
Contact:

Post by tom » Tue May 09, 2006 9:32 pm

Hi,

Which version of teeTree2 have you installed?
TreeHorizMarginDefault and TreeVertMarginDefault
TeeTree2 makes use of childmanagers to position the nodes. Default teeTree uses the TTreeExplorerAlignChild childmanager. You can change the horiz and vert margin settings by changing the HorizMargin and VertMargin properties of this child manager.

Have a look into the source code (or just ask) if you need more information:

Code: Select all

// Child manager constants.
      // See TTreeExplorerAlignChild properties if you want to change them.
      TreeHorizMarginDefault = 19;
      TreeVertMarginDefault  =  1;
      TeeCrossBoxHorizMargin =  5;
      TeeTree_DefaultYPosition = 2;
it doesn't display connections correctly.
Can you provide us a screenshot on what the problem is?

Best Regards,
tom@steema.com

iltrap2
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2002 12:00 am

Post by iltrap2 » Wed May 10, 2006 7:12 am

I need to print a Tree that can be displayed on more than 1 page.
Can you tell me how, please?
I attached:
1. the image (of the tree ) of a paper printed by an HPlaser jet: it doesn't display connection's line and the text is out of the boxes.
2. the images of the PrintPreview where I have to select page per page to print all tree, because the "Tree.Page.Count" returns a wrong number of pages (12 instead of 8)
3. the jpg image (tree.jpg) obtained using the source code provided by Steema's newsgroup (http://www.teechart.net/support/viewtop ... portformat)

Now the only way to print "correctly" the tree is to save a jpg image of the tree and than print it...I think that is a workaround not a solution.

It's very import for us to solve this because our customers are not very happy.

I'm using the TeeTree v2.0.

About TreeHorizMarginDefault and TreeVertMarginDefault, can you provide to me a sample code please?

Thanks in advance for your support.
Kind Regards,
Andrea

P.S. Look your email for the attachments.

tom
Advanced
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2003 5:00 am
Contact:

Post by tom » Wed May 10, 2006 10:36 pm

I'm using the TeeTree v2.0.
With which version of teeChart Pro is the teeTreev2 accompanied? (version 7.07?)

it doesn't display connection's line
Some printers have issues with dotted connection lines. Default the connection line has gray color and small dots. Please check the print-out by changing these defaults

eg:

* change the color to Black
and/or
* set smalldots to false
and/or
* change the lines to solid

The easiest way to change the default connection properties is through the globalFormat property: eg.

Code: Select all

Tree1.GlobalFormat.Connection.Border.SmallDots := False;
Tree1.GlobalFormat.Connection.Border.Color := clBlack;
Tree1.GlobalFormat.Connection.Border.Style := psSolid;
text is out of the boxes
Mmm. Please provide me a source code demo so I can check this issue here
"Tree.Page.Count" returns a wrong number of pages
This should be solved, please provide me a source code of your tree (or the trr file), so I can check it against our dev source teetree branch
TreeHorizMarginDefault and TreeVertMarginDefault, can you provide to me a sample code please?

Code: Select all

procedure TForm1.FormCreate(Sender: TObject);
begin
  if (Tree1.GlobalFormat.ChildManager is TTreeExplorerAlignChild) then //is normally default always a TTreeExplorerAlignChild 
   with TTreeExplorerAlignChild(Tree1.GlobalFormat.ChildManager) do
   begin
      HorizMargin := 10;
      VertMargin := 10;
   end;
end;
Last edited by tom on Wed May 10, 2006 10:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

iltrap2
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2002 12:00 am

Post by iltrap2 » Thu May 11, 2006 9:56 am

>With which version of teeChart Pro is the teeTreev2 accompanied?(version 7.07?)
I have not teeChart Pro installed,now.
On the past I installed teeChart 5 and teeTree1.
Before the updagrad to teeTree2 I uninstalled them and installed only teeTree2 with compile.exe tool.

Tomorrow I will post to your email the sample code.

Thanks again.
Regards
Andrea

tom
Advanced
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2003 5:00 am
Contact:

Post by tom » Fri May 12, 2006 12:33 pm

I have not teeChart Pro installed
Since teeChart v7, teeTree2 is only available through teeChart PRO (as a free addon). Every customer has been informed about this, if you haven't received this mail, then something has gone wrong.

The latest teeTree2 sources are available from the teeChart PRO download page.

In fact teeTree2 needs some sources from teeChart PRO, so since your compile worked, it must use some old teeChart components

iltrap2
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2002 12:00 am

Post by iltrap2 » Fri May 12, 2006 12:47 pm

On my downloads I can find only "TeeTree v2 Full Sources, Help and Demos".
So I downloaded it and installed it.

Do I have to unistall these teeTree2 and use (buy and download) something else?
If yes please tell me what,please?

Thanks
Andrea

tom
Advanced
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2003 5:00 am
Contact:

Post by tom » Fri May 12, 2006 4:10 pm

Please contact sales @ steema.com with your customer number and the message that you are a teeTree1,2 customer. They can provide you all the details how this migration (teeTree2 -> teeChart PRO) has been (will be in your case) handled.

Regards,
tom

iltrap2
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2002 12:00 am

Post by iltrap2 » Fri May 26, 2006 10:14 am

I sent a piece of my application.
Do you have received it?

Bye
Andrea

tom
Advanced
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2003 5:00 am
Contact:

Post by tom » Tue Jun 06, 2006 12:54 pm

Hi iltrap2,

No, I haven't received your email. Which subject did it had?

Regards,
tom

iltrap2
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2002 12:00 am

Post by iltrap2 » Tue Jun 06, 2006 1:09 pm

I resend it now with subject: "MAXIMA SAMPLE CODE".

Thanks again for the support.

Kind Regards,
Andrea

tom
Advanced
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2003 5:00 am
Contact:

Post by tom » Tue Jun 06, 2006 1:32 pm

Hi,

I received it. :oops: I must admit I already received it from chris (I forgot about it). Unfortunately I can't run your code, since it uses several 3rd party components which we don't own.

Have you already tried some of the above mentioned tips concerning printing connection lines with small dots?

Thanks,
Tom.

iltrap2
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2002 12:00 am

Post by iltrap2 » Tue Jun 06, 2006 3:09 pm

Exuse me...I removed 3rd party components.

Try it now.

Thanks again.
Regards,
Andrea

tom
Advanced
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2003 5:00 am
Contact:

Post by tom » Wed Jun 07, 2006 3:19 pm

Hi Andrea,

The connection lines are printed on our printer. So I guess the printer you use has some problems printing dotted lines. To solve this on your printer I suggest to try out the tips mentioned before or to have look at the below mentioned link.

I'm not sure if we can do anything about the different size of fonts between screen and printing... If it is printed in proportional mode, the tree is printed correctly.

The font formats are changed by windows itself (non-proportional mode), for more information have a look at http://www.steema.net/publicnews/public ... Better.txt

I'll see if I can find more info on this.

Regards,
tom

iltrap2
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2002 12:00 am

Post by iltrap2 » Wed Jun 07, 2006 3:30 pm

The connection lines are printed on our printer. So I guess the printer you use has some problems printing dotted lines. To solve this on your printer I suggest to try out the tips mentioned before or to have look at the below mentioned link.
I will try it.
I'm not sure if we can do anything about the different size of fonts between screen and printing... If it is printed in proportional mode, the tree is printed correctly.
...
I used large font because I'm printing jpg image instead of printing tree directly.
Can you modify my sample to show me how to print (in "good format") the tree in more than 1 pages, please?

Thanks again.
Regards,
Andrea

Post Reply